2014 Spirit of FOI Award – Call for Entries

2014 | Call for entries

Tuesday, April 15, is the deadline for electronic submission of entries for the 2014 Nancy Monson Spirit of FOI Award, which will recognize work in three divisions.

Spirit of FOI Award nominations for calendar year 2013 can be a single news story or series, an editorial or series of editorials, columns, editorial cartoons or a community FOI project. Entries will be judged in the following size classifications, and up to three entries will be recognized:

A – Daily and non-daily newspapers, circulation up to 9,999
AA – Daily newspapers, Sunday circulation 10,000-99,999
AAA – Daily newspapers, Sunday circulation 100,000 and up

All entries must be submitted electronically and include the following:
  • a letter, headed with the name of the person or organization nominated and the classification entered, explaining the effort being cited,
  • PDFs of pages containing the coverage being entered,
  • additional support documents or letters as deemed necessary.

Entries should be emailed to kelley.shannon@foift.org with the subject line FOI AWARD. Entries must be received by midnight Tuesday, April 15.

Winners will be announced at the Texas Press Association summer conference, June 19-21, in Corpus Christi. For further contest questions, email kelley.shannon@foift.org.