2014 Conference Agenda

A Road Map to Open Government
2014 Bernard and Audre Rapoport Annual State Conference
Friday, Sept. 12, 2014
Hilton Austin, 500 E. Fourth St.

8:45 a.m., Welcoming Remarks
FOI Foundation of Texas President Diana Fuentes

9 a.m.  to 10:15 a.m., Rights, Roadblocks and the Public’s Access to the Courts
Moderator, Tom Williams, partner at Haynes and Boone and FOIFT vice president. Panelists, Travis County Court At Law Judge Elisabeth Earle; Tarrant County District Attorney Joe Shannon; and First Amendment attorney Joel White, board member of the FOI Foundation of Texas.

10:15  to 10:30 a.m.: Break

10:30 a.m. to 11:45 a.m.: Social Media, Open Government – Avenues for Access
Moderator, Debbie Hiott, editor, Austin American-Statesman, and FOI Foundation board member. Panelists, Peggy Fikac, Austin bureau chief, San Antonio Express-News; Steven Polunsky, research scientist, Texas A&M Transportation Institute; Robert Quigley, senior lecturer, University of Texas at Austin School of Journalism.

Noon to 1:30 p.m.: John Henry Faulk Awards Luncheon, featuring keynote speaker Texas Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson and presentation of the FOIFT James Madison Award and State Bar Gavel Awards.

1:45 p.m. to 3 p.m.: New Laws, New Landscape: Today’s Public Information Act
Moderator, Paul Watler, partner at Jackson Walker and FOI Foundation board member. Panelists, Rep. Todd Hunter, chairman of Texas House Calendars Committee; Bill Aleshire, attorney, Riggs Aleshire & Ray; Amanda Crawford, chief of Open Records Division, Office of Texas Attorney General; Terri Langford, reporter, The Texas Tribune.