2016 Conference Agenda


Thursday, Sept. 8, 2016
AT&T Executive Education and Conference Center, UT-Austin

8 a.m., Registration opens; coffee and pastries available

8:45 a.m., Welcome and Spirit of FOI Awards
Diana Fuentes, FOI Foundation president

9 to 10:15 a.m., Future of the Texas Public Information Act
Laura Prather, First Amendment attorney; state Rep. Todd Hunter, R-Corpus Christi; Daxton R. “Chip” Stewart, Texas Christian University; Zindia Thomas, Texas Municipal League; Justin Gordon, Texas Attorney General’s Office

10:15 to 10:30 a.m., Break

10:30 to 11:45 a.m., Reporters Roundtable: Using open government laws to cover public officials
Emily Ramshaw, The Texas Tribune; Brian M. Rosenthal, Houston Chronicle; John Tedesco, San Antonio Express-News; Lauren McGaughy, The Dallas Morning News; Jay Root, The Texas Tribune

Noon to 1:40 p.m., John Henry Faulk Awards Luncheon
Keynote speaker Lisa Falkenberg, winner of the Pulitzer Prize for commentary; presentation of James Madison Award by FOI Foundation of Texas; presentation of Texas Gavel Awards by State Bar of Texas

2 to 3:15 p.m., Legal landscape and access to Texas public records
Paul Watler, Jackson Walker LLP; Jim Hemphill, Graves Dougherty Hearon & Moody PC; Joe Larsen, Sedgwick LLP.

learn more