2017 State Conference Agenda

Hilton Austin, 500 E. Fourth St.
Panel discussions take place in Salon G

8-8:50 a.m.: Arrive, register, enjoy coffee & pastries.
8:50-9 a.m.: Welcome from FOIFT president Chris Cobler; presentation of Nancy Monson Spirit of FOI Awards.
9-10:25 a.m.: Real News vs. Fake News. Moderator Chris Cobler. Panelists Eric Dexheimer, Austin American-Statesman; Eva Parks, KXAS-TV of Dallas-Fort Worth; Art Markman, University of Texas professor; Eva Ruth Moravec, director of Point of Impact independent journalism project.
10:25-10:40: Break
10:40-11:50 a.m.: Texas court records: The path to online access. Moderator Jim Hemphill, FOI Foundation vice president. Panelists Blake Hawthorne, clerk of the Texas Supreme Court; state Rep. Travis Clardy; Sharena Gilliland, Parker County district clerk; Madison Venza, Courthouse News Service.
Noon to 1:30, Salon F: Luncheon, featuring keynote speaker Sen. Kirk Watson; including presentation of State Bar of Texas Gavel Awards, James Madison Award and Lawmaker of the Year Award.
1:45 to 3 p.m.: What happened in the 2017 Legislature? What’s ahead?¬†Moderator state Rep. Todd Hunter. Co-moderator, Laura Prather, a First Amendment attorney with Haynes and Boone. Panelists state Rep. Giovanni Capriglione; David Foy, director of state government affairs for RELX, a provider of information and analytics; and Sandra Sanchez, opinion page editor of The Monitor in McAllen.
3 p.m.: Conference concludes.

learn more