State Conference Agenda 2018

“Texas: Let the Sun Shine” 
Friday, Sept. 21, 2018
Hyatt Regency, 208 Barton Springs Road in Austin
8 a.m.: Registration opens, coffee and pastries available; Hill Country Ballroom
8:50 a.m.: Welcome and presentation of Spirit of FOI Awards; FOI Foundation president Chris Cobler
9-10:15 a.m.: Sunshine Coalition: Why We Need It; Moderator, attorney Laura Prather; panelists James Quintero of Texas Public Policy Foundation; Luis Figueroa of Center for Public Policy Priorities; Terri Burke of ACLU of Texas; Linda Pavlik of League of Women Voters of Texas
10:15-10:30 a.m.: Break
10:30-11:30 a.m.Information Roadblocks and Reporting Difficult Stories; Moderator Ayan Mittra of the Texas Tribune; panelists Elizabeth Findell of the Austin American-Statesman; Andrew Chavez of The Dallas Morning News; Joe Ellis of KVUE-TV; attorney John Griffin
11:45 a.m.: Luncheon begins, Texas Ballroom 5-7
Noon: Luncheon program, including presentation of State Bar of Texas Gavel Awards and the FOI Foundation’s James Madison Award and featuring keynote speaker Texas Comptroller Glenn Hegar
1:15 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.: Free Speech on Campus. Are there Limits? Moderator Debbie Hiott of the Austin American-Statesman; panelists Quanecia Fraser, student journalist at Tarleton State University; Laura Krantz, student newspaper advisor at Texas State University; Leo L. Barnes, interim Vice President for legal affairs, University of Texas at Austin; and Ray Bonilla, general counsel, Texas A&M University System.