FOIFT announces call for entries for 2014 Spirit of FOI Award

AUSTIN – The Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas is now accepting entries for the 2014 Nancy Monson Spirit of FOI Award recognizing outstanding journalism efforts upholding First Amendment principles and open government.


The deadline for entries is Tuesday, April 15. Nominations published in calendar year 2013 can be a single news story or series, an editorial or series of editorials, columns, editorial cartoons or a community FOI project.


Entries will be judged in the following size classifications, and up to three entries will be recognized:


A – Daily and non-daily newspapers, circulation up to 9,999
AA – Daily newspapers, Sunday circulation 10,000-99,999
AAA – Daily newspapers, Sunday circulation 100,000 and up


All entries must be submitted electronically and include the following:


·      a letter, headed with the name of the person or organization nominated and the classification entered, explaining the effort being cited


·      PDFs of pages containing the coverage being entered


·      support documents or letters as deemed necessary.


Entries should be emailed to with the subject line FOI AWARD. Entries must be received by midnight Tuesday, April 15.


Winners will be announced at the Texas Press Association summer conference, June 19-21, in Corpus Christi. For additional contest questions, contact