Nancy Monson Spirit of FOI Award

The Spirit of FOI Award is sponsored by the Freedom of Information Foundation of Texas and named after FOIFT’s former longtime executive director, Nancy Monson. The award recognizes journalists and news organizations for outstanding efforts that uphold First Amendment principles, increase public access to government and improve awareness of state open government laws. Winners are honored at the annual FOI Foundation of Texas state conference. See the 2020 call for entries here.

Past Winners:
2018 (Awarded in 2019)
Class AA: KXAN
Class A: Victoria Advocate
Class AA, Honorable Mentions: Texas Observer; Houston Chronicle and Associated Press
2017 (Awarded in 2018)
Class AA: Austin American Statesman
Class A: KBTX-TV (Bryan-College Station)
2016 (Awarded in 2017)
Class AA: The Dallas Morning News
Class A: Corpus Christi Caller-Times
Class AA, Honorable Mention: The Texas Tribune
2015 (Awarded in 2016)
Class A: Victoria Advocate
Class AA, Honorable Mention: The Dallas Morning News
2014 (Awarded in 2015)
Class AA: The Dallas Morning News and NBC affiliate KXAS
Class A: Temple Daily Telegram
Class A, Honorable Mention: Galveston County Daily News
2013 (Awarded in 2014)
Class AA: Staff, Temple Daily Telegram
Class A: Kathleen Holton, Alvin Sun
2012 (Awarded in 2013)
Class AAA: Reese Dunklin, Sue Goetinck Ambrose, The Dallas Morning News
Class AA: Rick Spruill, Corpus Christi Caller-Times

2011 (Awarded in 2012)
Daily: Kevin Krause and Ed Timms, The Dallas Morning News
Daily second place: John Tompkins, The Facts
Daily third place: Elaine Marsilio, Corpus Christi Caller-Times
Non-Daily: Jessica Goode, The Bandera Bulletin
Non-Daily, second place: Glen Rose Reporter
Daily: Kevin Krause and Ed Timms, Dallas Morning News
Non-Daily: The Big Lake Wildcat and Publisher Randy Mankin
Daily: The Victoria Advocate, Victoria
Non-Daily: The Facts, Clute
Daily: The Facts, Clute
Weekly: Lori Ann Lilley, The Times Tribune, Brookshire
Daily: The Galveston County Daily News
Daily: The Galveston Daily News
Non-Daily: The Muleshoe Journal
Daily: Andy Alford and Erik Rodriguez, Austin American-Statesman
Non-Daily/Web: Edward Looby, Alvin Sun-Advertiser
Daily: Gazette-Enterprise, Seguin
Daily: Times Record News, Wichita Falls
Non-Daily: Texas Journalist, University of Texas College of Journalism
Daily: The Galveston County Daily News
Non-Daily: Vince Leibowitz, Canton Herald